Phi Beta Kappa Alumni

Phi Beta Kappa Day is just one of the ways RCDS celebrates high academic achievement. While most of our academic A wall of framed pictureshonors are given to current students, this particular school tradition honors you - our Alumni. Every year that an RCDS alumnus/a is named to PBK, the School takes a holiday on the Tuesday after Presidents’ Day to commemorate his or her achievement. If the School has more than one honoree in a single year, RCDS saves them for future years’ celebrations.

For those of you not familiar with Phi Beta Kappa, it is this country’s oldest and most widely known academic honor society. Founded in 1776, the Phi Beta Kappa Society celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and each year, only one college senior in a hundred, nationwide, is invited to join. You should be proud to know that RCDS Alumni have been far more successful than this 1% award average. To date, RCDS knows of 60 who have been selected for membership and we suspect that there may be others.

Below is our current list of Phi Beta Kappa honorees. If you know of any other alumni who are members of the Phi Beta Kappa Society please contact Missy Falkenberg at or at 732-842-0527 ext. 1142.

Henry E. BUTLER ‘30
James F. JOHNSON III '31
Martha Lee GETTY Wallender ‘35
Cara L. HAYES Miller ‘42
AnnMarie HAUCK Walsh ‘52
Jonathan D. BLAKE ‘52
Gretchen SMITH Truslow ‘53
Franklin C. NEVIUS ‘60
Charles D. DALY ‘61
Elizabeth HARVEY Adams ‘65
Jean SINNOTT Drew ‘66
Mary P. METCALF Deault ‘66
Laurie F. ELLIS Bruckmann ‘67
Robert P. LATTA ‘68
Ann HALSEY Davis ‘68
Brooks BANKER, Jr. ‘69
Vicki A. BARKER ‘69
John F. CONNOLLY ‘72
Martha M. BRYAN ‘74
Emmanuel G. COLLINS, Jr. '74
Daniel E. KREMENS '77
Steven M. NOCKA '77
Catherine STANGER ‘77
Caroline A. RIKER ‘80
Jordan M. ASH ‘82
James A. LIEBERMAN ‘83
Kathryn M. AMBROSE Hingle ‘84
Christopher BRENNAN ‘84
Christina E. BLACK ‘85

Kristi E. JACOBSON ‘86


Christopher J. PERRY '86
Jennifer B. SCHARER ‘86
Bryan J. STONE `86
Scott A. SCHARER ‘88
Jennifer L. SAFFER ‘88
Eric J. COSTANZO ‘89
Arin A. PRISAND ‘90
Elizabeth J. SHAHEEN ‘90
Jonathan E. DENNIS '91
Mary Jane V. RUBENSTEIN ‘92
James R. HINDERKS ‘92
Kevin S. MISSETT ‘92
Stefan S. KACHALA ‘94
Christopher F. GARSIDE ‘95
Caroline M. SAFFER ‘95
Ashley A. LYLE ‘95
Steven C. BROUSELL ‘97
Nathaniel B. SMALL ‘97
Matthew J. HADDAD ‘97
Amanda M. HADDAD ‘99
Stacylyn M. DEWEY ‘99
Sydney B. ROTH `02
Alexis R. HITCHNER ‘03
Max B. ROSS ‘03
Sara BELLIN `04
Chelsea COOPER '04
Alexis HARRISON '04
Alexander HOVNANIAN '04
Anna Rose JOHNSON `04
Elizabeth FUERBACHER '04
Charlotte FLEMING '07
Cionna ROSENTHAL '09
Samantha GOLDBERG `10